P4: Young Adult Contemporary LGBT #ownvoices: THINGS WE WEREN’T SUPPOSED TO KNOW

Peanut Brittle

Title: Things We Weren’t Supposed To Know

Age Category: Young Adult

Genre: Contemporary LGBT #ownvoices

Word Count: 64,000

Pitch: To fight their boarding school’s book ban, rich-girl Elspeth and scholarship-girl Robin run an underground library. After the school’s librarian is murdered, the girls must figure out what Holmes Academy is hiding other than novels.

First 250 Word of Manuscript: 

As of today I’m a co-conspirator. Is First Year Student Representative a position of power? I don’t know, but if it is, I’m using it to further my own nefarious purposes. With my track record, that’s how I imagine my parents would see it. I’m sure the Holmes Academy Board of Trustees would.

My parents started this, and they forced my hand by bringing Holmes into it. If there are two people better equipped to raise a liar than my parents, I’d like to hear about them. They could train spies for the CIA. “Smile and hold the knife behind your back.” That would be our family motto. My mother and father would love that, actually.

A Fairfax never loses. A Fairfax always comes out on top. So really, I am only doing what they taught me to do.

There’s never anyone in the library on a Saturday night. Tonight is no different. Robin is behind the desk and looks to her right when she sees me. I follow her eyes and see another student. What are the odds? The girl’s got her earbuds in and is watching something on her laptop. I can’t imagine a reason why she would come to the library when she could do the same thing in the comfort of her dorm room.

When I get to the counter, Robin bites the side of her thumb but won’t take her eyes off the student behind me.

“Hi,” she says.

“Ready to do this?”

 

7 thoughts on “P4: Young Adult Contemporary LGBT #ownvoices: THINGS WE WEREN’T SUPPOSED TO KNOW

Leave a Reply

