P5: Young Adult Fantasy: NIGHTBRINGER

Peanut Brittle

Title: Nightbringer

Age Category: Young Adult

Genre: Fantasy

Word Count: 95,000

Pitch: A government backed by fear and sunlight. A rebellion born from unrest and shadows. Avery, a girl who can create night, must control her ability to protect her people–or watch her stars burn out.

First 250 Word of Manuscript: 

Night would never come.

It was 1:32AM, but sunlight cloaked the ocean in a white shine. I could find countless reasons to march across the hot sand and go home, but there was one reason to stay–and one reason was enough. I had to see the stars.

So I dove.

Lukewarm water made my nerves crackle. I swam until my lungs threatened to pop, until my vision was black. I kicked and pulled until the sand shelf dropped away. When I could see blue on all sides, I surfaced. A wave gathered, lifted me, and rolled past.

Light refracted in the cerulean water, distorting my legs. I tightened the knot on my bikini top and scanned the shore. Empty still. Good.

I filled my lungs, inverted myself, and swam down until the water’s weight pressed on my ears. Cheeks puffed, I looked around. A big-eyed fish gaped at me and beat its fins back and forth. Assured that I was alone, I squeezed my eyes shut and focused on my chosen memory.

It was of the first time I created night. My sister had been in the room when the blanket of navy spilled from my hands. She’d shouted for me to stop–they might see–but I’d been too enthralled by the blinking stars to hear her.

Stars. I had never seen them before that day. Only the red sun.

I peeked at my upturned palms. Darkness gathered among my fingers, then unraveled and bloomed into the blue.

10 thoughts on “P5: Young Adult Fantasy: NIGHTBRINGER

  1. Request to take the Cherry Pitfalls! Please send the query and the first 100 pages (attached as a Word document) to queries [at] parkliterary [dot] com. Please paste the query into both the body of the email and the first page of the Word document. Put “Blair Wilson – Pitch Madness” in the subject line.

    Like

Leave a Reply

