P6: Young Adult Contemporary: YOUR HOUSE, MY RULES

Peanut Brittle

Title: Your House, My Rules

Age Category: Young Adult

Genre: Contemporary

Word Count: 84,000

Pitch: Orphan Alexia spends her life going from one “fresh start” to another. When she meets the too-good-to-be-true Gems, can she stop running from her past long enough to build a future with a forever family?

First 250 Word of Manuscript: 

There are a lot of ways to put your world back together after it falls apart. You can sew the frayed seams so it regains its shape. You can flip a switch to restore the gravity. You can even plug each hole and seal every crevice. Do whatever you want – it won’t matter. There’s nothing you’ll be able to do about the scars. They’ll swell past facades and crack masks, a constant pain you can’t kill or escape.

Unless you’re me.

“What do you think she wants?” Jamie asked, pacing the length of our room as I stood by the door.

I shrugged. “Maybe she wants to give me a million dollars and an all-expenses-paid trip around the world.” My friend rolled his eyes like I wasn’t taking this seriously and paced faster. I tried again. “Or, maybe –”

“Maybe she wants to send you away again,” Nate interrupted, arms crossed.

The three of us stared at each other, silent. I glanced between them, past what everyone else saw. Because when I looked at Nate, I didn’t see a broken boy who lived at the bottom of a bottle, and when I looked at Jamie, I didn’t see a walking rap-sheet, either. I saw my two brothers I would literally die for, even though they weren’t really my brothers. Just like this room wasn’t really ours, and this house wasn’t really our home.

“Yeah,” I said softly, “maybe that.”

8 thoughts on “P6: Young Adult Contemporary: YOUR HOUSE, MY RULES

  1. Great query! I’d love to see more. Please send the first 3 chapters to: TPAqueries@gmail.com, and put “PitMad Requested Mat., Title of ms, Genre, Last name” in the subject line. Paste the sample chapters into the body of the email please. Thank you! ~ Tina P. Schwartz, The Purcell Agency, LLC

    Like

Leave a Reply

