P9: Adult Mystery: DERAILED

Peanut Brittle

Title: DERAILED

Age Category: Adult

Genre: Mystery

Word Count: 84,000

Pitch: P.I. & single mom Kelly Pruett investigates the death and double-life of an accountant/dominatrix. But with the sole witness murdered, pursuing the killer may cost her custody of her only child—and also her life.

First 250 Word of Manuscript: 

Portland, Oregon has as many parts as the human form. Just like the body, some parts are more attractive than others. My office was in what some considered the armpit—the northeast. The narrow streets were dotted with pickpockets and drug dealers, the concrete striped with the spray paint tags of bubble-lettered gang signatures. Still, I couldn’t imagine being anywhere else. I’d grown up here in my father’s P.I. business.

I’d just flicked off the light in my back office when a loud rap sounded on the front door. From my desk, I couldn’t see who it was and I made no effort to check. It was six o’clock. I’m no wimp, but I don’t rush to open doors after dark. Besides, my daughter Mitz would be coming later and if I didn’t get to the grocery store beforehand, we’d be eating PB&Js for dinner. Again.

Another knock, more insistent this time.

I drummed my fingers on my dad’s mahogany desk and blew out a breath. It was more likely a vagrant than a client, but not knowing would bug me all night. I also couldn’t afford to lose an opportunity for a paycheck. Despite steady work from a few law firms around town, being a single mom usually meant more month than money.

Clicking on the desk light, I retrieved the canister of pepper spray from my purse. I strode through the reception area. Opened the door.

And gasped.

Leave a Reply

